You are here: Life > Birds > Eagles


Martial eagle, Africa, wingspan up to 2.6 m (8.5 ft inches) Eagles are large birds of prey. There are 33 species of eagle, living in mountains, tundra, woodlands, forests or on coasts. They build their nests, called eyries, in trees or up cliffs, returning to the same nest each year. Most eagles feed on mammals or other birds, except for the fish-eating sea eagles, which eat fish, and the snake eagles which feed on reptiles. They usually grab their prey without landing, then, if its not too heavy, carry it to a perch where they tear it apart. All eagles have excellent eyesight and can spot their prey from a great distance.

Golden eagle, Europe, North America, Asia, wingspan of 2.3 m (7.5 ft)
Golden eagle

Golden eagle

The most widespread of all eagles, the golden eagle lives in mountains and wildernesses all over the northern hemisphere. It has dark brown plumage and strong wings that allow it to fly even in high winds. Like all eagles, it can spot its prey—small mammals such as rabbits, hares, marmots and squirrels—from a great distance. 

The bald eagle is the symbol of the USA.

Q-files now has new sections specially written for younger readers. They are: Living world, Earth, Science, Human body, Prehistoric life, Space, History, Geography and Technology.

Find the answer